Fun for Less

Posted on February 24, 2013. Filed under: Family, Finances | Tags: , , , , , |

grouponlivingsocialTonight my hubby and I enjoyed a wonderful night out for free! Well I won’t say that it was completely “free.” A month ago I took advantage of a bowling deal for two on Living Social — two games (per person), two shoe rentals and a pitcher of pop for $10. An awesome deal for our bi-monthly date night and perfect for a family on a budget.

Daily Deal sites such as Living Social, Groupon and JB Dollar Stretcher are great ways to go out with the family without spending an arm and a leg. My family has enjoyed eating out at new restaurants and activities such as bowling and laser tag for half off the normal price. With a family of eight, these deep discounts have become key to keeping us on budget. I have signed up for email alerts to receive daily deals in my area. I review these emails regularly and we pick what we will do based on the deals that are available. I even plan ahead for those special occasions that we like to celebrate out; such as birthdays. I start scoping out the deals well in advance to snag one before the big day.

Additional Savings Tips:

Weekly coupons inserts and ValuPak are also great resources for discounts of restaurants. I keep these in my car so that they are accessible when we’re on the go. See my previous blog – Not So Extreme Couponing – for more tips on how to use coupons to save.

There are plenty of free activities that you can do with your family. Check out the calendars of your local publications (Metroparent.com’s calendar is my fav) to see what upcoming free events are available. I will share more ideas for free and inexpensive activities for the family in a future blog. Stay tuned!

In the meantime, what is the best deal you’ve found for a family outing? What sites/resources do you go to find deals? Leave a comment, I would love to hear how you had fun for less.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Fun for Less”

RSS Feed for Wordsofpowwer's Blog Comments RSS Feed

[…] Not So Extreme CouponingFun For Less […]


Where's The Comment Form?

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 13 other followers

  • Looking Back

  • Subject

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

